Triple Mustard Baked Salmon

Triple Mustard Baked Salmon

There is a saying, “If you want to make God laugh, just tell him your plans.” I am a planner by nature–I love lists, organizing calendars, and being prepared. (Yes, I was a Girl Scout.) I must be making God giggle all the time.

Here are some things that didn’t go according to my plans recently. First, I meant to post a recipe for corned beef and cabbage in time for St. Patrick’s Day. I had the recipe, I had the photos…and then I had a nasty cold. One of the worst colds that I’ve had in a long time. I was bleary and barely keeping it together, so naturally the thought of blogging was far down on my priority list. On St. Patrick’s Day my husband made the corned beef and cabbage dinner, and it was probably the best one we’ve had yet–although I have to take his word for it because I couldn’t taste very well with my stuffy nose.

Second event that definitely wasn’t planned: my 2 1/2 year old fractured his leg. He was running around the house as usual, and fell over (like he has done a hundred times before). He cried for a little bit but then settled down while he watched Sesame Street. It took me about an hour to realize that he wouldn’t walk and cried if he tried to put weight on his left leg. I took him to the pediatrician thinking that it would just be a sprain or something, and ended up going for x-rays and getting a cast. I was stunned. It also completely changed my usual plans–no more soccer, no more swimming, no more endless games of chase around the house. On the plus side, he has been a good sport about the whole thing and we’ve discovered that he loves doing puzzles and art. At this point he has one more week in the cast, so the end is in sight. My back will be glad when the cast comes off (man is he HEAVY with that thing on), but I have enjoyed the change in pace and discovering a new side to my son.

20150320_191410

Finally, my Easter plans got all switched around too. My husband & I took a short vacation to Aruba without the kids. We had a wonderful time, it truly is “one happy island” as the motto says. Our flights back home were not quite so wonderful. We were supposed to get back to Rochester by 8pm on the Saturday before Easter. This would give me plenty of time (I thought) to be prepared to host Easter dinner at my house the next day, especially since I had lots of things prepared beforehand. After a bunch of scrambling we finally made it home at 1:30am on Easter morning. So, my mom hosted Easter at her house instead. We had a nice day together as a family, even with an indoor egg hunt (because it was snowing).

Wish I was still here!

Wish I was still here!

Maybe all of these thwarted plans mean that I should be living in the moment more. That isn’t easy for a planner like me. But, this salmon recipe is something that doesn’t require advance planning, and is probably one of the simplest things I’ve made in a long time. I also made this salad and some rice as sides. I think subconsciously I was thinking about sushi, because this meal is like a deconstructed salmon roll. It would also be good with some potato salad and corn on the cob once the weather gets a little warmer.

Triple Mustard Baked Salmon (the idea to bake the salmon came from this recipe, the mustard sauce is my own creation)

  • 4 salmon fillets
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon smooth Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon whole grain Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon yellow mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Place the salmon fillets on the prepared sheet (skin side down). Season the fillets with salt & pepper.
  2. In a small bowl stir together the three types of mustard and the honey. Spread the honey-mustard mixture evenly over the salmon fillets.
  3. Bake the salmon for 12-15 minutes (if the fillets are thin go with the shorter time, if they are thick they will need the full 15 minutes).

Serves: 4

Time: 25 minutes

Note: The honey-mustard mixture is also a good dipping sauce for chicken or pork. If you want to serve the salmon with some extra sauce, set some aside before you start spooning it over the raw fish.

Comments

