Dad’s Cheesy Scrambled Eggs

image

I have been trying to post this recipe for awhile now. I am having some unfortunate computer problems which have hindered my ability to post. Basically my computer is getting too old (it is a 7 year old Mac) for WordPress to load properly, so I am posting this from my phone instead.

image

But enough boring IT stuff, let’s talk scrambled eggs. These are my Dad’s specialty. He makes them for almost every brunch family gathering that we have, and everyone loves them.

image

The story behind the creation of this recipe is special too. My parents ate eggs like this on their honeymoon and when they got home my Dad tried to recreate them. It took him awhile to get it right, but eventually he figured it out.

image

It will be my parents’ 39th anniversary in 10 days, so I thought it would be fun to share their honeymoon eggs with you. But first I had to get the recipe from my Dad. Like most frequently made family recipes, he didn’t have it written down and could only give me some slightly vague descriptions like “2 large slices of cheese.” But, just like Dad, I persevered and figured it out.

image

Dad’s Cheesy Scrambled Eggs

6 eggs
2 Tablespoons milk
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 ounces Velveeta (American cheese)
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
cooking spray

In a medium bowl whisk together the eggs, milk and salt until they are well blended. Stir in the Velveeta and Parmesan.

Heat a large nonstick frying pan over medium heat. Spray with cooking spray.

When the pan is warm (but not too hot) dump in the egg mixture and start stirring. Frequently scrape the cooking egg mixture from the bottom of the pan so that the cheese starts to melt and the eggs don’t stick.

When the eggs are still wet but have formed nice fluffy curds, decrease your stirring. When the eggs are moist but set, remove from the pan and serve.

Serves: 4
Time: 15 minutes

Comments

