Pork & Pineapple Burritos

image

I took a hiatus from this blog for awhile. I was overwhelmed with things going on with my family and I felt a little lost. Blogging began to feel like just another chore or item on my “to do” list, and I already have enough of those. So I took a little break.

Stepping away from the world of food blogging did have a benefit. It gave me some perspective on exactly what kind of “food blogger” I really am. I think I had been admiring other blogs do much (the photography! the elaborate home made creations!) that I was allowing myself to be unduly influenced by them.

I realized that instead of trying to impress with fancy recipes or multiple pictures (I am not great at photography), I should focus on my strength: getting food on the table that (usually) pleases my family. I think it is a situation a lot of people are in, and hopefully my recipes will be helpful to you.

With that in mind, I updated (and added) some content on this website to reflect my new focus on family dinners. The Kid-Friendly Meals page has been updated with new recipes and categories. I also added a Quick/Easy vs. Labors of Love page that lists my recipes by the length of time that it takes to create them (either 30 minutes or less, or more than 30 minutes). You can look forward to more kid-friendly, quick/easy recipes in my posts (starting with this one). These burritos are my adaptation on a few recipes I had tried, and they are a great way to get dinner on the table for your family in a flash.

Pork & Pineapple Burritos (adapted from recipes by Rick Bayless and Country Living magazine)

  • 10 ounces fresh pineapple, cut into small chunks
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, cut into 1/8ths
  • 1 medium shallot, minced
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped (optional)
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 chipotle chile en adobo
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled & quartered
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • feta cheese
  • tortillas, warmed
  • your favorite hot sauce
  • kosher salt & black pepper
  1. Combine the pineapple, cherry tomatoes, shallot, lime juice & cilantro in a medium bowl. Add a few shakes of hot sauce, 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, a few shakes of black pepper, & the olive oil. Stir gently to combine and set aside.
  2. Combine the fire-roasted tomatoes, chipotle chile, Worcestershire sauce, oregano, garlic & 1 teaspoon kosher salt in a blender. Puree until smooth.
  3. Brown the ground pork in a large frying pan. Drain the fat from the pork. Add the fire-roasted tomato sauce and simmer until thickened slightly (5-10 minutes).
  4. Serve the pork with the pineapple pico de gallo, feta cheese, hot sauce & warm tortillas.

Serves: 4

Time: 20-30 minutes

 

Comments

