Grandma’s Corn Bread

Corn Bread, final

Sometimes when things get rough I find it helpful to look back at a happy memory, like when I baked corn bread with my son back in February. This spring seems to be one of those periods in my life where I need a little break from current events. I don’t personally know anyone that was affected by yesterday’s tragedy in Boston, but it makes me feel so disheartened to think that someone would want to inflict pain on innocent people.

sifting

My kids are too young to notice anything on the news. In a way I’m glad that I don’t have to explain this to them yet, because these types of events defy explanation. But I do know that the day will come when something sad will affect them and I will have to help them through it. Discovering that the world can be a scary place (but also a place of great love & joy) is a tough lesson to learn, and an even harder one to teach.

admiring the mountain

As I look at these photos I took of my son making cornbread a few months ago, I’m reminded how my family helped me learn this lesson when I was little. Every day they showed me how much they loved me, whether it was simply packing my lunch or driving that lunch to school when I forgot it on the kitchen counter. They showed me that there are things in the world that we can have control over (like making corn bread), and other things that are out of our realm of control (like death). I hope that I can give my kids that same foundation of love so that when events come that could rattle them, they will still be able to remain standing strong.

stirring the corn bread

Grandma’s Corn Break (from my grandma’s recipe with a little adaptation)

  • 1 cup cornmeatl
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • cooking spray (or additional softened butter)
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Spray an 8-inch baking pan with cooking spray (or grease it with some additional softened butter).
  2. Sift together the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Add the wet ingredients and mix until smooth. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.
  3. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown on top and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Makes: 1 8-inch loaf of bread

Time: 40 minutes

Notes: The parts of this recipe that a kid can help with are the sifting & mixing.

Comments

