Super Simple Roasted Chicken

Some people only make resolutions once a year. I make resolutions once a season. It seems like as each season changes I find myself wanting something different, wanting to be a newer (hopefully better) version of myself. I look over my old routine and throw out the things that aren’t working, add in new things that I want to try, and sometimes go back to things that I previously threw out. You know the old saying, “nothing endures but change“–well that’s me to a tee.

Before our third son was born this summer I had my blogging routine down. I would pick one of the mornings when both of my older boys were at school and devote it to writing, uploading photos, and publishing. I knew things would change once the newest little guy arrived, but he has altered my routine in more ways than I imagined. I thought that he (like most newborns) would take a nap or two during the daytime. No way. He likes to be awake for the WHOLE day. He might take a little catnap while he eats or rides in the car on the way to his brother’s school, but once you try to set him down in his crib it’s all over.

Now, he does sleep through the night like a champ (which at 3 1/2 months is really something). And if I had to choose, I definitely prefer having him asleep at night (when I want to be asleep too) rather than having him nap during the day. But, this no napping thing really did throw me for a loop when it came to figuring out my schedule. It has finally occurred to me to stop trying to write during the day when I’m way too distracted. Hopefully this will result in more of my recipes & photos making it out to you, instead of languishing in my “drafts” folder. But if this new schedule doesn’t work out, you can count on the fact that I’ll retool it until it does–and even if the evidence doesn’t always show up here, I’ll always be cooking up something.

Super Simple Roasted Chicken (adapted from this recipe by Thomas Keller with the pan setup idea from Cook’s Illustrated magazine)

  • 1 (3 pound) whole chicken
  • 1 Tablespoon kosher salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 lemon, cut in half
  • 2 aluminum disposable pie plates
  • cooking spray
  • butcher’s twine
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Stack the 2 pie plates and place them in the bottom of a roasting pan. Spray a roasting rack with cooking spray and place over the pie plates.
  2. Rinse the chicken with cool water and dry thoroughly. Stuff the chicken with the lemon halves. Tuck the wings underneath the chicken and tie the legs together with butcher’s twine.
  3. Place the chicken on the roasting rack. Sprinkle the salt all over the chicken (according to Thomas Keller you should make the salt “rain” over the bird). Season with black pepper.
  4. Roast the chicken for approximately 1 1/2 hours (until it reaches 165 degrees at the thigh joint). Let rest on a cutting board for 10 minutes before carving.

Serves: 2-4

Time: 2 hours

Notes: The pie plates are there to catch the fat that comes off of the chicken as it roasts. First of all, since they are disposable, your cleanup will be much easier. Secondly (and more importantly), the air between the stacked plates (and the fact that they are made of aluminum) keeps the fat from burning when it hits the pans. Which is very helpful if you don’t want all the smoke alarms in your house to go off.

Comments

