Back to School Banana Bread

Oh my, time is going by much too quickly! My oldest son started kindergarten this year, and while he is thoroughly enjoying it I must admit that I’m a little overwhelmed with how much is expected of a parent whose child is in kindergarten. The amount of items added to my calendar is staggering–book orders due, show & tell days, curriculum nights, etc. I’m trying to keep it all straight while also remembering the special events at my middle son’s preschool and trying to really enjoy all the special baby moments with my youngest son. It feels like I’ve blinked and the baby is already two months old!

Special planning is required to keep everyone on schedule around here. That is where my Sunday prep work comes into play. I prepare lunches for myself & my kindergartener so that there are fewer last minute lunch box scrambles in the morning, and fewer hunger-induced headaches on my part. I also make a loaf of quick bread. This is mostly for my husband. He used to eat a donut every day for breakfast, but the quality of the donuts at his regular morning stop has declined significantly lately. When I was experimenting with quick breads to create this recipe he mentioned how he would much rather have a slice of hearty bread for breakfast instead of a donut. So, lots of variations of quick breads have been attempted and consumed–but this banana bread is a favorite. It is delicious for breakfast but also makes a great afternoon snack–perfect for either the quick dash before catching the bus, or as a nice welcome home after school.

Banana Bread (This recipe comes from a bread baking class I took when I was 10 years old)

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened (see Notes)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt or sour cream
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspon baking soda
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • cooking spray
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. Cream together butter & sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add egg, yogurt, & bananas and mix until combined.
  3. Fold in dry ingredients until just combined. Stir in walnuts (if using).
  4. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan. Bake for 50-60 minutes (until a toothpick comes out with only a few crumbs attached and the bread has developed a golden brown crust).

Makes: 1 loaf

Time: 1 hour 10 minutes

Notes: If you don’t have time to wait around for your butter to soften (and who does?) here is a little trick–put the cold butter in your mixing bowl and microwave on the defrost setting for 1-2 minutes. The butter gets nice and soft but doesn’t melt.

One thought on “Back to School Banana Bread

Comments

