Asparagus & Scallion Frittata

Two events at the end of last week inspired me to make this unusual-looking frittata. First of all, I received my first basket of produce from my CSA and it had asparagus and scallions in it. This is my first year doing a CSA program, but I’m already super excited about it. (For those of you in the Rochester area, I’m using the Maxwell Creek Farm Share program.) The day after receiving my basket I attended the Lidia’s Italy in America Live Tour and watched Lidia Bastianich make this recipe. With super fresh produce and a recipe from one of my favorite chefs, how could I resist?

For those of you not familiar with Lidia Bastianich, she is the star of a couple of wonderful cooking shows on PBS, most recently her show called “Lidia’s Italy in America.” What I’ve always liked about her show was how genuine she seemed, plus her food looks delicious too! She was just as genuine in person as she appears on TV. She was funny and honest, telling stories about how she developed a passion for food throughout her life and sharing helpful cooking tips too. And even though we weren’t able to taste the food she prepared, we could at least smell it, which is way better than TV.

Frittatas aren’t usually my thing. The idea of a big puffy omelet with some crunchy veggies floating around in it has never appealed to me. I prefer my eggs soft and slightly runny, not browned like most frittatas seem to be. Plus, some recipes ask you to flip the whole huge thing, which just sounds intimidating. When Lidia made this recipe during the show she said that she likes her vegetables cooked and her eggs soft, and I thought “Now this is a frittata that I might like.” I love that she didn’t apologize for the fact that this isn’t a traditional-looking frittata, she just said “This is the way I like to eat it, so this is the way I cook it.” And if it seems strange that it is served on top of toasty bread, don’t knock it until you try it. This is one of the most hearty and yet light egg dishes that I’ve had in a long time. I can’t wait until next week to see what my new CSA basket inspires!

Asparagus & Scallion Frittata (adapted from the program handed out at the Lidia’s Italy in America Live Tour)

  • 1 pound asparagus
  • 1/2 pound scallions
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (plus extra for the bread)
  • 8 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • black pepper
  • 12 slices of crusty bread
  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Prep the asparagus: remove the tough bottom ends, peel the last few inches of each spear, and cut into 1-inch pieces. Wash the scallions and remove the roots at the bottom and any tough green parts at the top. Chop the scallions into 1-inch pieces. Slice the bacon into lardoons (small strips). 
  3. Place a rack over a baking sheet. Brush each of the slices of bread with some olive oil and place on the rack. Bake for 10-15 minutes, until toasted and slightly crunchy.
  4. Heat the olive oil and bacon in a large nonstick skillet set over medium heat. When the bacon starts to sizzle, add the asparagus and toss to coat in the oil. Cover the skillet and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Add the scallions and toss to coat in the oil. Cover the skillet and cook for 7-8 minutes more, stirring occasionally. Meanwhile, thoroughly beat the eggs in a large bowl with the salt & pepper.
  6. Uncover the skillet. Spread the asparagus, scallions, and bacon out in the pan. Dump in the eggs all at once. Use a spatula to scrape the bottom of the skillet and fold in the eggs (as if you are making scrambled eggs). When the eggs are almost cooked through, remove the skillet from the heat. Spoon portions onto each slice of toasted bread and serve immediately.
Serves: 4 (as a main course) or up to 12 (as an appetizer)
Time: 30 minutes
Note: I like to eat this with my hands, just pick up the bread and take a big bite! 
10 thoughts on “Asparagus & Scallion Frittata

  1. Since it’s asparagus season right now in my town, it looks like I’ll just have to try this recipe out. This looks superb!

  2. I love Lidia and Joe Bastianich. Lidia seems so down to earth, and Joe does that incredulous thing with his eyebrows when he’s trying folk’s food that makes me crack up.

    This looks great.

  3. I think this is very much like what we call The Big Pancake. Instead of pouring the batetr over the veg, I steam it and at the same time make a cheese sauce (white sauce with cheddar in it).When it comes out of the oven I put the steamed veg on top, pour cheese sauce over the top, and then fold it in half. One half for each person. Tricky when there are 3 people here.I’m going to try your version. We’re on the verge of a huge asparagus glut.

Comments

