Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings

It occurred to me recently that I hadn’t posted in awhile. This wasn’t done intentionally of course, just one of those things that has slipped my mind while handling all the stuff that life throws at me. You know, fun stuff like a kid with an ear infection, getting the stomach flu, things around the house unexpectedly malfunctioning…you get the idea.

When all of these things started piling on my already busy schedule, I kept thinking of the phrase “When life hands you lemons, make lemonade.” I know that the sentiment of that statement is to take something bad and make something good out of it, but how did lemons get involved with representing something bad? I love lemons. I think they’re bright and cheery. If life wants to throw me some lemons, I’ll be catching them with open arms.

I think a better statement is “When life gets tough, make chicken soup.” I mean, what could be more comforting than that? They didn’t name all those books “Chicken Soup for the (insert whatever here)” for nothing. Maybe even better than chicken soup is this dish that comes from my childhood. You get all the warm, comforting aspects of chicken soup but there is also the hearty, filling dumplings to sustain you. Oh, and it’s also really inexpensive and fairly easy to make.

Here is the breakdown of the cost of creating Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings:

Ingredient Cost of Quantity Used
chicken thighs, skinless  $3.38
onion, yellow  $0.80
celery  $0.85
butter, unsalted  $0.17
chicken broth  $2.53
peas, frozen  $0.50
Bisquick  $1.48
milk, 1 %  $0.08
Total Cost =  $9.79

Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings (adapted from my Mom’s recipe)

  • 2 pounds chicken thighs, skin removed
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 stalks celery, sliced
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 6 ounces frozen peas
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 1/4 cups Bisquick
  • 2/3 cup milk
  1. Melt the butter over medium heat in a large Dutch oven. Add the celery & onion and saute until soft (5-8 minutes).
  2. Add the chicken to the Dutch oven. Pour in the chicken broth. (The chicken should be completely submerged in the broth. If it isn’t, add more broth or water until covered.) Season with salt & pepper. Cover & simmer for 30 minutes.
  3. Remove the chicken from the Dutch oven. Shred the meat and discard the bones. Return the shredded meat to the Dutch oven. Add the peas and cook for 5 minutes.
  4. In a medium bowl mix together the milk & Bisquick. Drop dough by large spoonful into the Dutch oven. Cook (uncovered) for 10 minutes. Cover the Dutch oven and cook for an additional 10 minutes.

Serves: 4

Time: 1 1/2 hours

9 thoughts on “Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings

  1. I usually add some rosemary and parsley; I also like it served over nice hot fresh biscuits in place of dumplings. Good stuff both ways!!!bbluett

Comments

