Cranberry-Tangerine Scones

“Winter. It’s a roller coaster of blah.” –narrator from Curious George (TV show)

That quote really struck me when I heard it yesterday morning as my kids watched their favorite show. Such an ironic comment–how often are roller coasters associated with blah?–but, it really makes sense. For instance, one morning you wake up and it’s a drizzly, squishy mess out there and then the next day it’s snowing so hard you’re afraid your car is going to go off the road. Exciting yes, but not in a good way.

We’re barely into the New Year and already winter is giving me a case of the blahs. I know there are people out there that love winter, but I sure as heck ain’t one of them. Perhaps I’m getting more and more like my dad as I get older–he always claims that one of these days he’s going to hibernate so that he can avoid winter altogether. Which sounds pretty good to me right about now. (If you’d like to hear a really catchy song about hibernation, click here and then scroll down until you get to the video clip called “Winter Nap For Bears.”)

The only problem with hibernating is that I would miss the entire citrus season. Growing up in western New York I had no idea there was such a thing, since citrus fruit is never in season around here anyway. I just assumed that it happened in the summer like all the other fruits I knew. But, the season for citrus is actually from November-March (depending on the variety and if they’re from California or Florida). Just what I need to break out of the winter blahs.

Cranberry-Tangerine Scones (I have been making these since high school, so I don’t remember where I got this from. The original recipe had raisins instead of cranberries and omitted the tangerine.)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 Tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup unsalted cold butter, cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 egg (separated)
  • zest from 1 tangerine
  • sugar for sprinkling on top (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl stir together the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, & salt. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender or fork. Stir in the cranberries. Make a well in the center of the flour/cranberry mixture.
  3. In a small bowl mix together the sour cream, yogurt, egg yolk, and tangerine zest. Pour into the well in the flour/cranberry mixture. Gently stir together until combined.
  4. Turn the dough out onto a floured cutting board. Knead it a few times and shape into a flattened ball. Cut into 12 wedges.
  5. Arrange the wedges on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet. Beat the egg white slightly and brush over the top of each scone. Sprinkle the tops of the scones with sugar, if desired. Bake 10-12 minutes.

Makes: 12 scones

Time: 30 minutes

Notes: You can make these ahead of time if desired. Follow the recipe up to the point where you place the scones on the cookie sheet. Do not brush with the egg white. Instead, cover gently with parchment paper and freeze them for later. When you are ready to bake them, remove the parchment paper cover, brush with egg white, sprinkle with sugar (if using), and bake for 12-14 minutes.

 

4 thoughts on “Cranberry-Tangerine Scones

  1. Warning: that hibernation song really is catchy. It popped into my head the first time I read the word, way before your link. Oh, how I love the Cat in the Hat.

Comments

