Dijon Fish Cakes

Ok, I’ve been away for almost a month and that means I have some ‘splainin’ to do. I promise that I was away for a really good reason, because I honestly love writing this blog and I have truly missed this creative outlet. So what was keeping me from you?

Morning sickness. Yes, the flower city foodie family will be growing by one this summer! Of course I’m thrilled about this (since we have always wanted to have three kids), but I’ve also been terribly nauseous and tired. Which turns writing about food into kind of a bummer. And, as you can imagine, I haven’t been very inspired to try new recipes or be very creative in the kitchen.

This means that I’ve had to rely on those easy, tried and true recipes that I keep socked away for hectic days. And, even if you’re not pregnant, I’m sure you have days when you feel too tired to cook. So let’s talk about one of my favorite old reliables: Dijon fish cakes. This recipe is relatively new to my repertoire, but it has already made itself indispensable.

This is the recipe equivalent of “The Little Engine That Could.” The first time I made these, my husband said, “That’s never going to work. They’re going to fall apart or stick to the pan.” But I told myself “I think I can” and they held their shape and came out beautifully golden brown. Doubts about this recipe have crept into my head during subsequent times that I have made these–maybe that first time was just lucky?–but they always turn out to be unfounded. So next time you’re feeling a little overwhelmed by cooking, just whip out this recipe and try to stay positive. It’ll work, I promise.

Dijon Fish Cakes (adapted from Real Simple magazine)

  • 2 large haddock fillets
  • kosher salt & black pepper
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh dill (optional)
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 3/4 cup panko (Japanese style bread crumbs)
  • 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Place the haddock on the prepared baking sheet (skin side down) and season with salt & pepper. Bake until cooked through (~12 minutes). Let cool and flake into small pieces (be sure to discard the skin).
  2. In a medium bowl combine the mayonnaise, eggs, dill, and mustard. Fold in the cooked haddock and panko. Form the mixture into 8 cakes (use a 1/4 cup measuring scoop to keep them even) and place on a plate. (You can line the plate with wax paper or parchment paper to make it easier to transfer the cakes later if you’d like to.) Put in the freezer for 5 minutes to firm up.
  3. Heat 1 Tablespoon of the vegetable oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Cook half of the fish cakes until golden (3 minutes per side). Drain on a paper towel-lined plate. Repeat with remaining vegetable oil and fish cakes.

Serves: 4

Time: 30 minutes

2 thoughts on “Dijon Fish Cakes

Comments

