Winter Squash Bisque

I know that Halloween is right around the corner, but I’ve got Thanksgiving on my mind. I created this soup last year for the big feast, and then didn’t get a chance to enjoy it. I don’t want to go into details, let’s just say that a nasty virus had other plans for me and my kids that day.

Since I sort of “missed” Thanksgiving last year, I’m determined to make up for it this year. We go to other relatives’ houses to celebrate, so I usually contribute to the meal with side dishes and dessert. Pies are a big deal for my side of the family. Many years ago we decided that it wasn’t fair to pie to relegate it to after dinner when everyone was too full to enjoy it. That was the beginning of “pie lunch.” Yes, on Thanksgiving my side of the family enjoys a lunch made up entirely of pie. Don’t worry, we keep it well-balanced with nine different varieties.

Maybe some people would think this is a little crazy, but it works for us. Everyone gets to really savor all the pie varieties, and it doesn’t fill you up too much so you’re ready for turkey later. Most of the pies involve some type of fruit, so that makes up for all the butter and sugar, right?

Anyway, we do eventually get around to the more “traditional” meal–turkey, stuffing, and all the sides. Which brings us to this soup. We used to have regular mashed squash as a side dish, but last year I decided to switch it to a soup. I mean, there’s already mashed potatoes and mashed sweet potatoes, do we really need more mashed food? One of the best parts about this soup is that it can be made ahead of time. All you have to do is warm it back up before you want to serve it. My favorite way to do this is to throw it in a slow cooker on low–that way you can spend your Thanksgiving with your family, instead of stirring over the stove.

Winter Squash Bisque (my creation)

  • 1 medium-sized butternut squash
  • 1 medium-sized acorn squash
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 large shallots, peeled & thinly sliced
  • 4 Tablespoons butter, divided
  • 4 cups buttermilk
  • 6 large sage leaves
  • salt & pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. Cut squashes in half and scoop out seeds. (If you’re feeling a little industrious, wash and dry the seeds and toast them for a snack.) Brush cut sides of squash with olive oil and place cut-side down on prepared baking sheet. Roast for 45 minutes.
  3. Saute shallots in 2 Tablespoons butter over medium heat until softened (about 8 minutes). Add the flesh from the roasted squash, buttermilk, and sage. Bring to almost a simmer over medium-low heat. Use an immersion blender right in the pot to blend until smooth (see Notes for other options if you don’t have an immersion blender). Stir in remaining 2 Tablespoons butter until melted. Season with salt & pepper.
Serves: 6
Time: 1 hour
Notes: If you don’t have an immersion blender you can use a regular blender or food processor to get the soup smooth (be careful though–hot stuff in a blender can splatter). You will probably have to do this in batches.
4 thoughts on “Winter Squash Bisque

  1. How weird! I was just looking over some Thanksgiving themed recipes and wondering if there was any way I could swing a ‘dessert only’ type of thing and here you are with the perfect idea! Pie lunch. Sounds like my kind of party

  2. You know, I was just thinking about trying to find a different way to do squash as I was also feeling like there were too many mashed veggies at Thanksgiving. I was thinking about roasting small cubes of squash. Maybe I should try this with the sweet potatoes instead?

Comments

