FOX Rochester Kitchen Floor Cookoff & The $5 Challenge

This photo comes from the NY Wine & Culinary Center's website (http://nywcc.com)

Tonight I face a new culinary challenge: being a cooking contest judge! I keep wondering if I should be like Gordon Ramsay, Joe Bastianich, or Graham Elliot. Then I realize that I should just be myself, which means I’ll probably find something positive to say about each dish, because I was always told, “If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

If you’re wondering what contest I’ll be a judge for, it is the FOX Rochester Kitchen Floor Cookoff at the New York Wine & Culinary Center. In 2009 I was a finalist in this contest, and last year I actually won it. So, that’s why they asked me to be a judge this year. For more information about the contest, click here. For more information about the NY Wine & Culinary Center (which is a really awesome place to check out if you’re in the Finger Lakes area of NY–and I’m not being paid anything to say that), click here.

This graphic comes from Slow Food USA's website (http://slowfoodusa.org)

Another foodie project I’m currently involved with is the $5 Food Challenge. It is sponsored by Slow Food USA. The idea is that it shouldn’t cost a lot of money to eat good, locally grown food. So, this Saturday (September 17th) everyone is encouraged to create a meal for themselves, their families, or a whole bunch of people that costs $5 per person (or less). I’m hosting a private event with my family, and I hope everyone takes the challenge. For more information, click here.

I’ll post some pictures (and some recipes) from both events as soon as I can. Have a great weekend everybody!

Comments

