Southwestern Turkey Sliders

We have been in our new house for seven months now. Lately I’d been struggling with how my kitchen was organized. When you first move into a new place and are faced with a mountain of boxes, you just want to get everything put away fast so your life can go back to normal. I did a pretty decent job of organizing everything when we first moved in, but there were a few areas that were bugging me.

My drawers were kind of a mess. I hadn’t used any drawer organizers, and it was obvious. My husband and I kept putting things back in different drawers, and soon everything ended up crammed between the two drawers on our “peninsula” area of countertop. This situation was really slowing me down while I cooked–where is that measuring cup? How come I can’t find my whisk? That is not what I want to be thinking about when I’m cooking.

So yesterday I did what needed to be done–dumped the two everything drawers onto the countertop and evaluated the situation. I pulled out the items I use all the time–measuring cups/spoons, whisks, etc.–and set them aside. Everything else went in less used drawers around the kitchen. I put drawer organizers in the two most used drawers, and then put my most used items in there. Makes sense, right? Sometimes the most simple solutions make all the difference.

This recipe is a simple solution to one of my most asked questions: “What can I make for dinner tonight that is fast, healthy, and will be eaten by everyone?” I took a few shortcuts with this one–pre-made salsa, canned beans, packaged taco seasoning–which really made this something fast to put together. I had been worried that the turkey might grill up dry, but the addition of some egg to the burger mix really kept things moist. They were just what I was hoping for–interesting enough for the adults, but familiar enough for the little guys. Even if you don’t have little guys around to feed, I hope you keep these in mind when you need to put dinner on the table quickly.

Southwestern Turkey Sliders (my own creation)

  • 1 pound ground turkey meat
  • 1 Tablespoon chipotle taco seasoning
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 6 thin slices colby jack cheese
  • 6 wheat slider buns
  • 1 can refried black beans, warmed up
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 cup prepared tropical fruit salsa
  • vegetable oil (to prep the grill)
  1. Preheat grill to high.
  2. In a large bowl gently mix together the turkey meat, chipotle taco seasoning, and 1 Tablespoon of the beaten egg. Shape into 6 slider-size patties.
  3. Use a biscuit cutter (or circular cookie cutter) to cut the slices of cheese into slider-size portions.
  4. Clean the grill with a wire brush. Dip a folded-up paper towel in some vegetable oil and wipe it over the grill grates using a pair of tongs. Gently place the turkey sliders onto the grill (don’t try to move them). Turn the grill down to medium. Cover the grill and cook for 8 minutes.
  5. Carefully flip the sliders. Top each one with a circular slice of cheese. Put the buns on the top rack of the grill (or in a cool spot if you don’t have a top rack) to toast. Cover the grill and cook the sliders and buns for 4 minutes. Remove the sliders and buns from the grill.
  6. Stir the lime juice into the warmed refried black beans.
  7. Assemble the sliders: Spread the refried black beans on the bottoms of the buns. Put the turkey sliders on next. Add a generous scoop of salsa on each one and finish with the tops of the buns.

Serves 2

Time: 30 minutes

Notes: Make sure that the ground turkey is a mix of white and dark meat (I think that all white meat would be too dry). I used canned refried black beans and prepared tropical fruit salsa to make this a quick weeknight meal, but feel free to make your own if you have the time. 

Comments

